Spring has sprung!

Spring has sprung! Finally! With all the rain I was starting to grow mold where mold should not grow.

946747_10151694670852009_378471171_nOn Saturday morning I took the kidlets to Ambleside for a play in the sunshine. The cherry blossoms were out; the tulips were in full bloom…an EPIC Vancouver morning if I ever saw one. While admiring the wonders of Mother Nature’s flora and fauna, I realized that another springtime species had emerged with the golden rays of sun “M.a.m.i.licus Cyclaticus”. This sunny day I came across a herd of about 30 which included a few female of the species. It was unbelievable to witness the speed and agility of these creatures… not to mention the array of colourful plumage on the M.A.M.I.L. themselves and their steeds. At one point the herd was split into two by a savage traffic light. You could literally feel the anticipation and excitement as they held themselves back; just itching to close the gap. The moment came as soon as they saw green the chase was on! Awesome!

I was out riding solo on the North Shore the other day and as I was grunting up a mountain side I got this funny feeling like I was being pursued. Little did I know that for the past few kilometers I had a target on my back and had a pack of lycra clad, 2-wheeled beasts stalking me. Preferring to be the hunter and not the hunted, I stepped it up a notch; I wasn’t going down without a fight. I could literally feel them trying to reign me in. Luckily the top of the mountain came relatively quickly, although in the moment… time seemed to have this annoying habit of standing still. Victory was mine!

mountainbiketraining

Although, I lost a vast amount of self-respect as my pursuers said “wow…great ride” and all I could do was smile (grimace) and try to hold down my lunch.  In the moment it was a titch uncomfortable (aka morbidly painful) but it felt great to be there with the other riders. I love this sport.  Solo, or in a pack, it makes you feel like you are part of something bigger.

One thought on “Spring has sprung!

Leave a Reply

