For the Love of Cycling

Someone asked me the other day if I ever rode with my husband. My reply went something like this: “I love him too much to do such a thing.”  I have to say I got a few sidelong glances after saying that.

Yes, there are some couples who go out and have amazing rides and bond and do the “date night” thing on two wheels. Good for them! My husband PJ and I have come to realize however that we are not them. We tried mountain biking on the North Shore together prior to marriage. Needless to say, within a month we had broken up. Time passed, we got back together, then went riding in Whistler, broke up within the fortnight, got back together – you get the picture. To this day in time, I have never gone road riding with him. Seriously.

I think it comes down to the fact that I/we are too competitive. I severely dislike people beating me and showing me up. If I am going to get spanked it had better be in a 50 Shades of Grey kind of way (excuse me for a moment. Aaannnd I’m back). I don’t like holding people back, I don’t like being told what to do, I don’t like losing. Yeah, yeah, yeah, I know I know – (insert psycho-babble here). I get it! I’m a BIT of a perfectionist and I am uber-competitive. 

However, after really thinking about the question I started to worry that my lack of  riding with my husband said something about who we were together. Day and night were spent pondering the ins and outs of our relationship. Pure angst. It was a Dr. Phil episode in the making. After whipping myself into a frenzy, I finally took the bull by the horns and posed the question to PJ.  Did he feel the need to go on rides with me? I’ll spare you the details, but here it is in a nutshell: PJ likes to ride all out and especially with his buddies. Who can get up Cypress the fastest without puking is not my idea of fun. I like riding with “my girls”. When I ride, I get on my bike to leave my kids and responsibilities behind me. I want to know that if I am PMS-ing and a car cuts me off, the person I am riding with will chase down that (insert expletive here) hunk of metal with me and rip off the bumper. I want to know that if I see a bike and use “cute” or “pretty” to describe it, it will not initiate an eye roll. I want to be able to have a detailed conversation on whether to pre or post ride shave, what brand of biking shorts make butts look smaller, and gripe about the severe lack of cute riding jerseys on the market. Catch my drift?!

I love riding, but I LOOOOVE my husband and never the two shall meet. ‘Nuff said.

One thought on “For the Love of Cycling

  1. Hmmm. I guess dearie and I don’t have enough competitive blood in us to avoid each other in cycling. I’m 54 and been cycling regularily for transportation, fitness and cycle touring since 32 yrs. He came into my life at the right time…when already for 6 months I was pining to return to cycling.

    I cycle with dearie 60% of the time and other times we do our own thing. But the way I have come to learn how to string together multiple bike routes into 1 big long route 100 -50 kms. long is through Jack –he is also a cycling advocate (was in Toronto and now in Vancouver). I have learned immensely from him how to carve my own journey by bike.

    I joke that he is a 200,000 km. used car (that’s his cumulative mileage over 23 yrs.) and so clearly he does cycle way more than I, Without me and most of it solo locally and across North America.

    I would suggest to allow yourself to look differently one day about cycling with your hubby: he won’t be always there in your life. Join him now.

    I feel this..because Jack is 16 yrs. older than I. Every ride with him counts. Life is precious.

Leave a Reply

