To Whom it May Concern…

Dear Reader,

Before I get started I would like to apologize to ALL of my English teachers. Although the following blog may have you thinking otherwise and by the end of this most of you will hardly believe that I pulled off high A’s in English, yes, you did do your job.

I have a horrible habit of bastardizing the English language (sometimes even making up words if I can’t find one that fits my mood), missing…and yet sometimes over using…punctuation, taking “side bars”, making “mental notes”, and in general making English teachers cringe worldwide. This being said, I will be tearing a page from Mr. Jack Kerouac’s “On the Road” and write in a stream of consciousness (or unconsciousness depending if the kids have kept me up at night).

I will be writing about how it feels to be a “third wheel” in the world of road cycling. I have no doubt this won’t be a literary classic but I do hope it gives you some information, a bit of entertainment, and a possibly a little giggle.

Third wheelingly yours,
Ria

4 thoughts on “To Whom it May Concern…

  1. Hi Ria,

    Hmm I’m sure there was a post about your recent experiences re buying your new bike? I can’t find it now but I’ll comment here, anyway – hope that’s OK.

    Anyway, it was a great write-up. I’m with you on all of it, aside from the ladies-specific parts (I’m a guy). I went through a similar thing in October last year when I bought my new road bike and also found that cutting through all the sales guff and just getting out on road tests is the best way to go. I’m stoked with the bike so far although it’s odd that my $5000 bike sounds like a bag of nails and my $1100 bike is dead silent … it’s a SRAM thing, apparently! Great to hear you’re making progress towards the final decision. 🙂

    I love reading new cycling blogs and I’m looking forward to reading more about Whistler and the things going on there – it’s a great place!

    – Chris (I took the photo on your site’s banner)

    P.S. Must’ve made the right decision for my bike as I got arty with it, one day. 🙂

    • Thanks Chris. I’m glad you liked the write up. I’m always a bit hesitant about my writing style. Some people don’t get my humour…I’m better in person.
      AWESOME bike photo!
      Now… all I have to say is…SRAM?!?! Remember who you are talking to. I don’t talk Bikenese!

  2. SRAM, as opposed to Shimano, i.e. the brand of bike parts. The SRAM “RED” parts I have on my bike are renowned for being noisy, especially while pedalling … haha, like we do *that* much, right? LOL I think probably made an idiot of myself by explaining that but hey, it’s only the internet. 😉 Glad you like the photo!

Leave a Reply

